Commission Members

The Commission consists of 21 members appointed by the President of the United States. Of these, seven are appointed after consultation with the Speaker of the House of Representatives and seven are appointed after consultation with the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, with three of each seven by tradition recommended by the minority leaders of each house of the Congress. The President designates a Chair from among the Members. Members are appointed for three-year terms but continue to serve until they are replaced. They are not paid for their service.

Chair and Members


  Starlet "Star" Jones Lugo

    Ned W. Bandler 
    Heshie Billet
    Abba Cohen
    Tyrone C. Fahner 
     Emil A. Fish 

   Jules Fleischer 
    G. Jonathan Greenwald
    Martin B. Gold

    Nicole M. Isaac

    Lesley Israel


 Nancy K. Kaufman

 Michael B. Levy

 Harley Lippman 
 Michael T. Marquardt

 Warren Miller

Maureen C. Pikarski
Jonathan J. Rikoon 
Harriet Rotter 
Lee R. Seeman  
William F. Shaheen